New Driver Trailer Question - cheapaschips
Hi!

When I am a qualified driver do I have to take anymore tests to be able to tow a rear loading horse trailer?

I have found an old thread that says about towing with a 4X4 but does anyone know any other makes of Car/Van I can use?

thanks

Em
New Driver Trailer Question - v8man
All depends on how heavy the horse box is. In practice you are likely to be limited to a large 4x4 to haul something this size.
--
\"Nothing less than 8 cylinders will do\"
New Driver Trailer Question - Cliff Pope
You don't need to take any more tests, but the limiting factor will be the weight of the box compared with that of the towing vehicle.
There have been technical threads on this subject before, but I think the usual guideline is that the trailer should not exceed 80% of the weight of the car. That is a recommendation (caravan club, I think) not a legal limit, but is strongly adisable especially for an inexperienced tower.
The absolute legal limit I think is only that the total drive weight - ie car plus box plus load plus horse must not exceed the weight stamped somewhere on the car. If it is an older vehicle with no stated limit then I don't know what rule applies.
I remember from years ago when I had a LandRover that it was classed as a "multipurpose" vehicle and there was no upper legal limit. A LandRover can pull a lorry, albeit slowly.
Realistically you probably need a 4X4, although old Volvo estates are commonplace at pony club meetings, and are certainly up to the job.
New Driver Trailer Question - RichardW
Since you passed your test after 1997, you are no longer entitled to tow trailers over certain weights. See:

www.dvla.gov.uk/drivers/dl_towing_trailers.htm