Cold Mornings Revisited - John Foley
Seasons Greetings to the best forum I visit.

Following on from the "Cold Morning" topic in September. Arse warming Swedish motors, Japanese wives etc

Could the backroom please advise me the best method to clear front the screen effectively on my Primera. It defies my attempts to clear it by remisting very quickly, rendering my first few hundred yards an accident waiting to happen

Could Darcy tell us more about his step fathers fan heater on the back shelf.
How was it powered.

Do I risk cracking the screen by using a battery powered hair dryer.

Has anyone a favourite de icer?

Thanks in advance
Re: Cold Mornings Revisited - Alwyn
I have been using warm water for this job for 40 years with no problems. Others say you risk cracking your screen. You choose.

I find that it clears ice on the outside and mist/ice on the inside.

Need large jugs, sometimes two or three trips to the taps are needed. Make sure the water is only warm, not hot.

Cheers
Re: Cold Mornings Revisited - Simon Saxton

Hot water used to be my favourite but not boiling.

Simon
Re: Cold Mornings Revisited - Tom Shaw
Put a hot water bottle on the dashboard while you have your breakfast. The gentle dry heat is very effective at clearing the screen without risk of cracking it.
Re: Cold Mornings Revisited - John S
Has your car a pollen filter? If so, it could well be blocked - they can need replacing as frequently as 15 - 20k miles. Common cause of internal misting.

Plus, if you have air con, don't forget that this can be used year round and will promptly clear the screen due to the dehumidifying action of the condenser.

Regards

John
Re: Cold Mornings Revisited - Andrew
But I find this leads to steaming up even worse when the a\c is turned off. I've found this on a number of cars.
Re: Cold Mornings Revisited - John S
Andrew