ANPR. Mobile and the future ? - henry k
CBS news item from 05 April
In the USA, the latest ANPR units operate from a moving car with a laptop on the passengers lap.
The operators cruise the streets to identify cars whose owner has an outstanding fine, even a library ticket.
Once a target is identified they strip the plate off, clamp it and it is then towed away.
Surprise, surprise, there are larger queues to pay outstanding fines.
Is this likely to happen here?
ANPR. Mobile and the future ? - Altea Ego
Already does.

Any and all vehicles entering the City of London gets APNR checked (the ring of steel) and has to be pretty sharpish to get out before a tug from CoL police if anything comes up. The car gets tracked by CCTV.
ANPR. Mobile and the future ? - Roly93
You haven't heard the worst of it yet !
I work in the technology industry, and I can tell you that the next generation of ANPR systems make the ones in the City of London look rather 'Fred Flintstone' !

The newer systems are tiny, more accurate and cheaper to deploy like grass-seed !
ANPR. Mobile and the future ? - Altea Ego
And when cars get RFID tagged, your average copper/warden/tax man/ can walk down the road and report a line of cars in seconds.
ANPR. Mobile and the future ? - daveyjp
Some traffic cars are fitted with mobile ANPR as part of the video camera set up. A warning signals on suspicious plates and hits in London are about one in ten vehicles.
The newer systems are tiny, more accurate and cheaper to deploy like grass-seed !

>>
As you say the kit is getting better and cheaper.
I think it was stated at $27.000.
The revenue collected in one area was $600.000 in six months.

The difference was that
1. The kit was totally mobile.
2. It appeared to be operated NOT by the police
3. An instant clamp and lift was carried out for an offence that was not a basic motoring crime.

It would be an added concern if you vehicle has a cloned plate.
Do they suffer from cloned plates in the USA?