Citroen AX 14d cambelt - CheapNcheerfull
Hi, I'am a little nervous as this is my first time on a
website;)

How easy is it to check the cambelt on a 14d AX and what would I look for to indicate a change is required ?

Any guidance appreciated.
Citroen AX 14d cambelt - tomboy
I dont know the car but if you haven't got any history as to when the belt was last changed. CHANGE IT.
It's a false economy to take the belt off, think it looks ok and then refit it. For the sake of £10 or £15 buy a new one and have peace of mind that your good for another 40 - 50,000 miles.
ps while your at it renew the tensioner as well.
good luck
Citroen AX 14d cambelt - madf
SWMBO's 1.4 diesel Peugoet 106 has same engine and is due a new belt which I have bought and plan to fit this week.(plus new alternator drive belt)

A Haynes manual (sh ex Ebay or borrow from local libarary ) is very comprehensive. (says you need a special tensioning tool.. untrue..)

To check you need to remove the covers : which if you take all 3 off is 1/3rd of job. My first time I expect to take about 3 hours.

To check belt check for cracks - teeth side: or oil contamination or any visible wear.

You also need a number (3) of 8mm bolts to fix the pump/crankshaft and 1x 6mm for the camshaft to lock all into position. (suitable sized drill bits are OK).

Remove the glow plugs to amke engine rotation easier (cover with rag to ensure no dirt entry.)

I think you may need to jack up the driver's side front wheel and remove it to gain access to mid/lower cover and crankshaft pulley: you have to on a 106.

madf