audi 100 1990/91-cambelt? - noviceman
I have above and have noticed cambelt not been changed for 66k,does it need changing and how do I know ?
audi 100 1990/91-cambelt? - NormanB
Hi

I have no specific knowledge of Audis or your model.

The cambelt is a rubber product which deteriorates with use and time and if it fails has disasterous consequence for heads, valves and pistons which at the end of the day translates to big bucks repair. On an older car the repair can exceed the value of the car.

I would consult the Audi stealer for their latest recommendation as to interval for belt changes BUT if it were me I would change it now and would do it myself if possible. If you have a reliable Indy nearby you will get the job done cheaper than at the dealer.
Many thanks.
I have spoken to local (Knighton-powys) trustworthy dealer who estimates ca £60-80 for job. My old independent thought around £200- God knows main dealer !!!!!
My problem is whether to get rid now and buy another car. More expenses looming............
If the Dealer will do it for that price it ain't worth getting your hands dirty.

Only you know the overall state of your car, but getting rid because of a cambelt is a bit drastic - they are almost in the consumable category now (like brake discs!).

I am afaid I am very 'old school' when it comes to motors and believe in 'better the devil you know'.
Thanks again. My electronic circuit board doesn't work and warning lights keep on buzzing ! Various pumps are very noisy and possibly about to fail and the steering rack apparently has a unspecified limited life. I keep on spending money but when to stop ?
I ignored warning buzzer this summer but lost brakes and steering. (Hydraulic pump-£383 ).
Ah well !
Oh - I see!

Tough call.

Good luck.

NormanB
audi 100 1990/91-cambelt? - Andrew Moorey (Tune-Up)