What should I do? - robZilla
I took my gf's car to a local garage to have the brakes looked at Saturday. They told us that both front discs were corroded, warped and "excessively worn" and should be replaced. They wanted £200+VAT for the job. I thought this a little suspect as the discs and pads had been replaced not more than 18 months previous. So I told them not to do the work and took the car home and looked at the discs myself. I'm not a mechanic but I though they looked OK. I had a mechanic friend of mine look at them and he said they were fine and did not need replacing, though the pads were nearly worn out and should be replaced.

I paid the garage £35 (cheque) for the time they spent diagnosing the car but I'm so angry that they were intending to rip me off that I feel like cancelling the cheque and giving them nothing, as I feel that's what they deserve. I know this is a dodgy area legally becuause they did spend some time looking at the car and theoretically should be paid for that time so I'm looking for some advice really... has anyone else had a similar experience and what did you do about it?

Thanks in advance.
What should I do? - Altea Ego
Unaswered questions here

Why did you take the brakes to be looked at? what was wrong with them? What were the symptoms?
What should I do? - joe
Law of Cheques is very specific, if you cancel the cheque then they could claim the money off you in court and you would have no defence. Doubt they would bother though.

They were supposed to carry out their work with reasonable care and skill, and it sounds like they didn't. No loss to you however as you discovered their "mistake".

I would report them to local trading standards, and tell everyone I know about what they did.
Sorry, they were making a funny noise when going round right hand bends. Turns out this was caused by a corroded fixing bolt that holds the brake caliper to the hub. They did correctly diagnose this.
What should I do? - Phoenicks