What IS average mileage? - weatherwitch
I'm looking at replacing my wonderful old Corolla, it's an 1988 E reg and has less than 118,000 genuine miles on the clock, so many car adverts say low/average mileage, and an N reg I found seemed to imply that 80k was low mileage?

I realise that I've been spoilt but is there a guide anywhere as to what is a realistic mileage? I'm looking for cars between N and up to R reg (1997)

Many thanks, sorry if this is in the wrong forum, it's my first time on this one :)
What IS average mileage? - KB.
"If" we call 12k per year average (and that's an 'if' - not a statement of fact).....then, if your car is about 14 years old and 14 x 12 = 168. So, on that basis, 118,00 is below average.

However, personally speaking I wouldn't advertise it as being 'low mileage'. I'd not put the mileage in an ad - just reply truthfully when asked.

I bought a 1989 "F" Reg. Maestro earlier this year with 14,000 genuine miles on the clock. The seller of that particular car had good cause to advertise it as 'low mileage'.

Most people wn't be too concerned at the mileage - just the condition and price.

(PS. Have just ordered a Corolla myself - see other recent threads if you don't mind being bored to tears) :-)
KB.
And I regret not adding - Welcome to the Backroom Forum.
KB.
What IS average mileage? - DavidHM
12k per year is average.

However, many UK cars are bought first for the fleets, where the average is nearer 20k.

So, especially when you take account of the fact that up to 1/3 of cars are believed to have been clocked at some point, a reasonable guess would be

Average in years 1-3 - 18k
Average in years 3-6 - 12k
Average in years 6-9 - 9k
Average in years 9+ - 6k

So you get, for a fifteen year old car, an average of about 153k - if the car has actually lasted that long. Many of the cars that make it to fifteen years old have one, caring owner for the first six years of their life and only cover a low mileage.