Self Igniting HDI - HJ 02.08 - Edward
What is it with PSA group and electronics? I have or family members / friends have owned numerous 106, 205, 309, 306, 405, Xantia, Saxo, ZX etc. and all are plagued by annoying electrical problems. Everything from engine managment, ABS faults, electric 'toy' problems (sunroofs, windows, mirrors etc.) headlights......the list goes on. As an Electronic Engineer I get out the (increasingly useless) Haynes manual and trawl through the circuits, eventually (well 90% of the time) finding the problem. Most owners, though, have to resort to the dealers who haven't got a clue. Why can't they sort this out?
Self Igniting HDI - HJ 02.08 - Morris Ox
Lord knows, but it does seem to be a French national characteristic. Don't want to see like I'm hijacking this thread but I suspect it affects far more than PSA products.

On a personal level, I can trace it back to the late 1980s and an infuriating week driving a Renault 21 TXE. The 'E' stood for Electronique, denoting all the electrically-operated gizmos on this posh model (windows, locking, mirrors, sunroof, LED multi-function dashboard display etc).

My 'week' with the car actually lasted no more than three days during which functions were failing one by one. This trend culminated in wiper failure and, as it was winter, I left the car in the car park and told Renault fleet to come and take it away.

The big question is why it's a French national characteristic. Is it down to the suppliers they use? A penchant for over-complicated or under-resourced systems? Or plain poor build quality?

They do seem to like their electronic gizmos in French cars but why can't they boeuf them up a bit?
Self Igniting HDI - HJ 02.08 - THe Growler