Q Car Advice - paul45
Hello Everyone

I'm new to the back room but I've been reading posts for a couple of months now. Thought I would cut my BR teeth by asking a question I couldn't see info for - namely advice on buying a Q Car. Ten years ago a Volvo T5 or dare I say it a Rover 620ti would have fit the bill, namely reasonably swift, understated (in comparison to an Impreza or an Evo), and not a body kitted version of an existing model (like a Mondeo S200 type). I'm looking to spend about £20k so I realise that I'm looking at something a couple of years old, other requirements are mondeo size and with a good reputation for reliability. Present thinking is Audi A4 in previous S4 guise (like the idea of 4 wheel drive) but any suggestions would be most welcome.

Over to the fountains of knowledge.

Pauliepops
Q Car Advice - mmm-five
How about...

Merc C43 AMG (£10k+)
Merc E55 AMG (£15k+)

BMW e34 M5 3.8 (£8k+)

Jaguar XJR (£7k+)

Volvo S60 T5 (£12k+)

Alpina B3 (£12k+)
Alpina B6 (£12k+)
Alpina B10 (£14k+)
Q Car Advice - SprinterJK
BMW 5 Series either 535i or 540i. You can get a 2000 model of either for around 20k, and they look just like the smaller engined models. Take off the badge on the back and nobody will ever know.
Q Car Advice - TrevP
Or the ultimate Q-car:- Skoda Octavia VRS and keep £5K in your back pocket.
Q Car Advice - Thommo
Have driven the Skoda and it is awesome. Plus cheap at the moment, lots of discounts on offer, not sure why for such a cracking car.
Q Car Advice - matt35 {P}
Paul,

A)Have a test drive in a Jag X Type, 2.5 or 3.0 ( 4 wheel drive- Mondeo size - swift? - mine has cruised at 120 at Millbrook.

B) £20K will get you a very good one from a main dealer as I think the factory is on short time and the dealers are under pressure to move the stock.

C)Tesco car parks are not full of them.

(D) Stand by for comments on your name on this website (Joking).

Matt35.
Q Car Advice - Steve G
156 GTA

Seen one for sale at £19995
Q Car Advice - DavidHM