Help - brake pads - BobbyG
Chancing my arm here, but is there anyone out there just now that could tell me , step by step, how to replace front brake pads on a Scenic?
This is my first attempt at changing brake pads so I am sure its not that they are different from other cars - just that I am a novice.

I have the wheel off and faced with what I presume is the caliper with a bolt top and bottom that looks spring loaded. What do I do now?
Help - brake pads - Aprilia
Put it back together and take it to a garage?

Seriously (I really don't mean to offend) you shouldn't be learning things like this on the family car. If you have to post on here asking how to do it - then you shouldn't be doing it. There are a lot of mistakes that you could make, some of which could lead to a nasty accident.

Give it to a garage this time - and sign yourself onto to a motor vehicle repair course at the local technical college.
Help - brake pads - Gen
Buy a Haynes. It'll be an easy job but can't tell you for sure on the scenic.
Help - brake pads - Mark (RLBS)
Bobby,

Somebody helpful who knows will be along at some point; but looking at how it comes apart is your first step. Look for a couple of pins going through the calipers and holding the pads, or it could be a single pin, but it\'ll be fairly obvious. Often they will only come out one way, so pay attention to how it appears to have been pused in. If you need to use too much hammer, then you\'re probably doing something wrong.

Your only likely point of difficulty is that your new (unworn) pads will required a bigger space than the currently worn pads.

Now you hear all sorts of things about the correct thing to do and the dangers of doing it wrong, but unless your current pads are massively worn I can\'t imagine you\'ll have too much difficulty simply pusging the cylinder back in gently, even releasing the bleed nipple if you have to move them much.