Ford Focus 1.6 tdci 2005 - 05 Focus 1.6 Tdci turbo - hiswife

I have just bought the above car with 117k the problem is that on tick over the engine/exhaust note alternates between sounding as it has an exhaust leak and having a blocked exhaust also when driving it seems the turbo works then it doesn't work, any thoughts please? thanks Ed.

Ford Focus 1.6 tdci 2005 - 05 Focus 1.6 Tdci turbo - elekie&a/c doctor

Did you do any research before purchase?Take a good look here;www.honestjohn.co.uk/carbycar/ford/focus-2004/?sec...d

Ford Focus 1.6 tdci 2005 - 05 Focus 1.6 Tdci turbo - SLO76
This engine is notorious for turbocharger failure and often the blades disintegrate and are ingested by the engine which effectively destroys it. Quick search online for PSA 1.6 HDi engine failure/faults or similar will flag up no end of woe. It's a terrible engine. I'm no mechanic but as a trader I avoid anything with this engine fitted and best advice I'd give would be to have a mechanic check to make sure it's not something simple like an air leak or a gummed up EGR valve and if it's not then I wouldn't bother spending the money to fix it, it's likely the previous owner has already spent a fortune on it. Punt it to auction and accept it as a lesson in motoring... never never buy a cheap old turbo diesel, it's a complete false economy. Best option on a tight budget is a simple petrol engine.
Ford Focus 1.6 tdci 2005 - 05 Focus 1.6 Tdci turbo - hiswife

I am no expert but if it works one minute and not the next it aint the turbo.

Ford Focus 1.6 tdci 2005 - 05 Focus 1.6 Tdci turbo - SLO76