Leyland daf road runner - info & help needed - dreadman

I can't find any other site where I can ask for help with a 1988 road runner daf . New master cylinder fitted brakes still spongey I'm told the problem is needs new bleed nipples for the front brakes, is this an easy fix ? & expensive ?I'm no mechanic & don't know what I'm doing.Also what other things do I need to look for as this is a truck I'm looking at buying. would appreciate any help. Cheers

Leyland daf road runner - info & help needed - focussed

It's 27 years old, and it's had 27 winters of road salt. The bleed nipples will be rusted solid and have probably been rounded off by someone trying to unscrew them. Been there many times. If you can't get the bleed nipples moving or they snap off it's new brake cylinders or calipers, don't know whether they had discs or not.

The same probably applies to the rest of it, everything you touch will be rusted solid.

You said you are no mechanic - do you feel lucky?

Edited by focussed on 08/07/2015 at 23:42

Leyland daf road runner - info & help needed - gordonbennet

Is this the current owner/sellers opinion (needs new bleed nipples)?

if so it sounds a bit like ''aircon needs regassing'' often seen in ads which roughly translates to it's leaking refrigerant like a slashed tyre and will need regassing after you've spent £750+ on parts/repairs.

My inclination would be to pay a lorry mechanic to give the vehicle a thorough inspection before you buy, you can drill bleed nipples out and rethread them, but its time consuming and a job for accuracy and probably not cost effective unless you DiY.

Leyland daf road runner - info & help needed - focussed

Put your brain into gear and run a mile forget you ever saw the vehicle its at best scrap.

Yup-That's it in a nutshell !

Leyland daf road runner - info & help needed - edlithgow

Put your brain into gear and run a mile forget you ever saw the vehicle its at best scrap.

Yup-That's it in a nutshell !