pulled out in front of me, now im being prosecuted - campani

i was travelling along a A road at 60mph and a young lad pulled out in front of me and i slammed on the brakes and still hit him.

a couple of months later i have been given the option of going on a motoring course or being prosecuted with Driving without due care and attention or: driving without resonable consideration for other road users.

i do not know why the charge is being brought against me, is it possible that my tyres/brakes were below the legal limit and could this be classed as the above offences rather than drivng with defunct tyres and /or brakes. or is it because the driver of the other car has said that i was speeding?

what im looking for is a list of reasons why i could be prosecuted to see if any of them could possibly apply?

pulled out in front of me, now im being prosecuted - gordonbennet

I'm no expert but there's more to this than you're telling us, such as at least some blame for the accident being pinned on you, any reasons given?

Police obviously attended, but has the other parties insurer admitted liability?

Presumably the course you are being offered is a speeding awareness course, police involved in the accident?...measured everything and calculated your speed?

If the speed was calculated via skid marks, are you wondering if defective tyres and or brakes might have contributed to longer skid marks, possibly leading to higher than you expected speed calculation of your speed, are you being done for any defects...or were there witnesses around, maybe someone who thought your speed or driving style prior to the accident warranted them having a word in the old bill's shell like, they could well be called as witnesses.

The chap who pulled out on you could say what he liked, but unless he's classed an expert witness (he's hardly impartial) i can't see how he can have known your speed.

Sounds like you need some proper legal advice.