Madza 3 - Broken Con Rod - MrsJ

I'm new to this so please bear with me. My 2009 Mazda 3 came to a grinding halt last weekend. My local Mazda dealership has now quoted me £4423 to carry out the work.

I have had the car regularly serviced at my local Mazda dealership. Mazda and the dealership will only pay 10% as a goodwill gesture towards the costs. I've only had the car 23 months and it's still on finance.

The dealership have carried out their diagnostics and found no issues.

Is someone out there that can give me some advise please. I haven't had any problems with the car up to that point. It has the full service history and I am at a loss as to what to do.

Thanks MrsJ

Madza 3 - Broken Con Rod - elekie&a/c doctor

A broken con rod is a pretty dramatic failure on a modern car and is usually the result of an underlying problem (ie lack of oil).I presume that the engine has been dismantled for the garage to arrive at this result.Can't see how this can be an economic repair unless a s/hand engine can be sourced.Is this a petrol or diesel?

Madza 3 - Broken Con Rod - gordonbennet

As above, if the maker and dealer can't be cajoled into providing some goodwill (10% isn't even trade discount, so doing you no favours), i'd stop them doing any more immediately, pay them for their time and remove the car to somewhere not charging probably the thick end of £100 an hour, then get a used engine from a write off slotted in.

edit...it's not another Mazda Diesel failure to add to the list is it?

Edited by gordonbennet on 26/01/2015 at 20:46

Madza 3 - Broken Con Rod - Railroad.
Don't rule out a fuel pump issue allowing fuel to drain into the sump causing a hydrolock, and consequently a broken con rod.