Toyota Auris Touring Sports - What to buy to replace a rover 75 CDTi tourer? - yellowmitch

Hi There,

I am a bit of a serial car collector and currently mainly drive a Rover 75 connoisseur se CDTi tourer. It's a 53 plate with 135000 miles on it and I REALLY love the car and the spec it has. The problem is that the car clutch is now quite heavy and soem of the bodywork has the odd dent and scratch. Now don't get me wrong, these things are pretty minor and I am a qualified mechanic, so it's not like I can't fix the problems.

The thing that annoys me however is that even though it is a diesel and I service it religiously, I only get around 35mpg out of it.

I also bought a 2006 Daihatsu Sirion 1.3sx as a winter car to save the rover, but this 2 car strategy is not really ideal.

I am tempted to buy one newer car (ideally an estate) to replace both.

I am considering the toyota auris touring sports excel 1.6 valvematic as I think this will give great spec, great reliabilty and hopefully better economy than the rover.

I am minded to stay well away from modern diesels and all their troublesome turbos, dmf's, dpf's etc. My question her is is wht car do people reccomend as a reliable, economical, spacious high spec car?

Alan

Toyota Auris Touring Sports - What to buy to replace a rover 75 CDTi tourer? - skidpan

Look at a Seat Leon tourer. With the TSi engine its a really great performer and the economy is equally brilliant. The 1.2 and 1.4 variants are the only engines you could possibly need on todays roads, forget the 1.8 TSi.

I have a 1.4 TSi but its the hatch. Had it about 18 months now and over 11,000 miles its averaged a genuine calculated mpg, not bad for a 140 ps petrol. Its the Se spec which ahs all the kit you could possibly want as standard.

Bought mine from CarFile.net. The local dealers were a total waste of time. Carfile save me £2000 with no risk since you only pay monies to the dealer like you normally would.