Any - Well paid work for retired Professional Engineer - Firmbutfair

I am a semi-retired Professional Engineer, Registered and Chartered for over 30 years, with well-honed technical skills in circuit and system design in consumer electronics, audio, sensors, telecomms, renewable energy and the automotive industries but I am finding it very hard to land any work in any of these fields - even of a part-time nature. I have registered my 2 page CV with CV-Library and TotalJobs and regularly apply for advertised contract positions but as yet, after 6 months of serious searching, I have only landed two interviews, accepted one job offer on an agreed 3 days per week basis only to be told, after over four weeks of unecessary delays and stalling from HR, that I am no longer required as they have found someone internally to do the work.

Does anyone have any suggestions of how I can improve my luck and land myself some much needed employment ?

Edited by Firmbutfair on 23/10/2014 at 19:56

Any - Well paid work for retired Professional Engineer - bazza

I am a Chartered Chemist and Manufacturing scientist- work in and out of perm/contract roles in QA/technical Management within Pharma and Medical Device industries, I am in my 50s and handle recruitment as part of job, so my advice is based on that background: