£4500 Budget for Hatchback that will last? - Alex100583

Hello Wise People,

I have been reading a ton of reviews and I am struggling to get to the bottom of which car will be best for me. I am a Mature student and I need to buy a car that will last me for as long as possible and ideally be reliable. I will be covering be covering 8k miles a year (guess) and I know that Diesel is not cost effective for these distances, but I wonder if this is offset by the engine lasting longer?

I am also staring down the barrel of kids so I think a 5dr hatchback/small estate would make sense (something the size of a focus). I also hope that I can get something that is reasonably fuel efficient without being absolutely sluggish? I am aware I might be asking for too much!

I am just unsure whether to balance age vs miles on the clock and diesel vs petrol. I have bought some terrible cars in the past and I hope that will end here!

Any help would be much appreciated i.e. recommendations of: Make/Model/Age/Miles/Engine.

Many thanks in advance!

£4500 Budget for Hatchback that will last? - veryoldbear

At 8k miles per annum think petrol only. If you are going to have kids over the next few years, I fear it's going to be estate-ville. Until you've done it you will never believe the sheer quantity of STUFF you have to cart about.

I will start the ball rolling with an Astra estate.

£4500 Budget for Hatchback that will last? - HandCart

I'll raise you a Focus estate or a Focus C-Max or a Mazda 5 or a Honda FR-V. But the FR-V's boot isn't enormous. The japanese stuff was with a view to reliability and longevity, but actually, since there's no need for a diesel, the Fords should be perfectly reliable and long-lived anyway if they just get regularly serviced.

£4500 Budget for Hatchback that will last? - gordonbennet

Avensis pre 09 so previous model, preferably estate.

I too would avoid Diesel, unless you find one so cheap as to be disposable when something nasty goes.