Ford Fiesta? - but open to suggestions - New/Used Car Advice - User_resU

Hello!

I am looking to buy a new car in the not to distance future. But I am no car expert, and have never bought a new car before.

So, to make sure I have some knowledge of what to look out for, and if I'm making the right choices on what I have done so so far, I thought I'd write here.

Please can anyone help and provide their thoughts on the below? Thank you so much!

Background:

I currently have a 1999 Toyota Yaris. It's got just under a 1 litre engine. It's worked really well for me for a good few years now, and hasn't really caused me any issues.

It is getting on a bit now, and I've also recently changed jobs to one that is no longer on my doorstep, but requires 20 miles or so of motorway driving each way per day.

So I think it's time for a new car. I was considering a used one, but there seems to be good deals on new cars at the moment; I've also just managed to get various debts out of the way (credit cards etc), so now have room for finance. I also have enough for a depositi.

I want:

I want a new car that has:

• Good MPG for motorway driving (my current Yaris can do about 45mpg)
  • Has a good 0-30mph speed (I don't want to be speeding everywhere, but my current car can't accelerate, and when the lights turn green, I intend to be already gone.
  • is not overpriced
  • is reliable and has good features
  • Good insurance bands and tax (as is reasonably expected)

Quandry:

I have heard good things about the new Ford Fiestas, and that they are good cars for a variety of reasons.

However, are there other good makes/models out there that could be better alternatives?

• If a Fiesta is the way forward, which model is best?
  • Any features I should look out for as extras?

Finally: