SEAT Ibiza - key fob not working after aftermarket stereo fit - emilyclaire89

Hi all,

I have an 06 plate seat ibiza and fitted a pioneer aftermarket stereo today. It was an absolute NIGHTMARE to fit and after finally getting it in I can no longer lock or unlock my car with the key fob. Also the stereo stays on after I've turned off the ignition. I used a wiring adaptor from halfords to fit it. Does anybody know what the solution is? I am not technical in anyway shape or form so simple language would be appreciated :)

SEAT Ibiza - key fob not working after aftermarket stereo fit - elekie&a/c doctor

Sounds like the stereo is not correctly wired.Disconnect the new radio wiring to see if this restores the locking function.Fitting aftermarket electrical devices to modern cars can be a bit of an issue as the delicate electronics of the car can get confused.There is no auxilliary position on the key on these,the radio is switched via the electronic can network.

Edited by elekie&a/c doctor on 23/02/2014 at 19:56

SEAT Ibiza - key fob not working after aftermarket stereo fit - Oli rag

I think I'd be tempted to unplug the new harness and see whether the fob works or not.

Just out of interest, what do halfords charge for fitting a stereo these days?

The stereo should I think continue to work if the ignitions turned off to the accessories position( this is generally one click from getting the ignition lights on.)

Thanks for your replies :) I will try disconnecting it tomorrow and see if that makes a difference. If it is incorrectly wired is there an idiots guide on how to correct it or is it a technical job? I just bought the VW group wiring kit and plugged the black boxes together and the brown boxes together. That's about as technical as I get I'm embarrased to admit!