car insurance + young persons - top
Wonder if anyone on this site has advice or knowledge of the following
I have an 18 yr old daughter who is learning to drive.
would like to purchase a new car, one with a low insurance group such as vw polo or toyota yaris. Not sure whether to insure the car in my name, then include my daughter as a named driver, I have full no claims bonus on my own vehicle which I will be keeping.
or to insure the new car in my daughters name only.
I assumed that if I did the former it would be cheaper,
however I have been told that insuers have cottoned on to the fact that parents insure cars on behalf of their offspring, and that the cost we be similar whichever way I do it.
any comments or if anyone knows of a decent insurer for young persons would be much appriciated
car insurance + young persons - doug_523i
I'm sure one of the majors was doing a years free insurance on new cars, from as young as 18 as well, was it the Yaris? I think I saw a Corsa offer but it was from 21 years old. My nephew shares a car with his mum, and they are both down as drivers, but with a maximum 6,000 a year mileage.
car insurance + young persons - Andrew-T
We did this for a while with our daughters while they learnt to drive and didn't actually own the cars. As soon as they do, the strategy makes less sense, because they never get started on the NCD-earning curve. Sooner or later they have to bite that bullet, but I guess 18 is rather too early.
.. and the other point is that you (as owner/driver of car 1) can't use that NCD on a policy for car 2 (at least I've never been able to wangle it).
I've found that with cars. I have two bikes on the one policy, both named and both with separate insurance documents, yet the fee is only for the higher risk vehicle.
car insurance + young persons - John S