Ford Ka - Used car Interest again previous plate/ no v5 - nansenwho

Greetings all

I'm new to this so bear with me.

My car was written off recently, and "market value" insurance payments being as poor as they are, i've been looking at cat d write offs as a potentially affordable way of getting a reasonable vehicle given limited funds.

I went to view a Ford KA today (yesterday?!). It seemed a tidy motor, ran well, everything felt good, had a look under the bonnet nothing concerning.

Arranged an AA inspection purely as it's a cat d- will be happening today

However- as a further exercise in dotting is and crossing ts, got a HPI check

Came up with outstanding finance against the plate- which disappeared from the record when the VIN was put in.

However the warning remains "Interest registered against a previous plate"

I have no idea what this means- the garage aren't aware of the vehicle ever having a personalised plate

However, they are unable to supply me with the V5C details as the car was previously written off, and therefore the v5 has to be reapplied for by the new keeper, and they "don't want to make it look like it's had an additional owner"

It's the sort of thing I would usually ask my dad about, but he isn't around anymore, hence any help at all would be appreciated

It doesn't quite feel too good to be true, the garage seemed genuine enough although inhabiting the strange world of repairing cat ds. But it doesn't necessarily feel quite right either....

Ford Ka - Used car Interest again previous plate/ no v5 - madf

My advice? Run away.

Lots more cars out there. If the garage have not done an HPI check before they sell a car, they are potentially Arthur Daley types.

Any repoutable garage does a HPI check..And outstanding finance means it is not the prior owner's to sell - unless they settle the debt.

Of course it could all be a record error - do you want to spend hours sorting out someone else's mistakes?