Vauxhall Corsa CDTI 1.3 13 Reg - Engine needs decoking after 19,000 miles - Franklee Speaking

After 4 to 5 thousand miles of my Vauxhall loosing power I have now been informed that Vauxhalls have found that those that stop and start their vehicles will have to have their engine decoked. Does anyone know how much this could cost although I have this car under warrenty and knowing my car will stop and start alot because Im a Driving Instructor, could I find this happening again when the warrenty runs out.

Vauxhalls have just notified all dealers of this potential problem especially with Driving School car.

I believe that this car is not fit for purpose because i asked for a Driving school Spec car so will be looking for a full refund or a compatible car for my business. Does anyone agree?

Vauxhall Corsa CDTI 1.3 13 Reg - Engine needs decoking after 19,000 miles - RT

Wouldn't an "italian tune-up" occassionally eliminate any build-up of carbon, eg when you're late for a pick-up!

Vauxhall Corsa CDTI 1.3 13 Reg - Engine needs decoking after 19,000 miles - gordonbennet

Decoke, really?

Don't they mean the DPF needs a forced regen as its clogged up, can't see the combustion chambers clogged with carbon yet.

I agree you bought the wrong engine for stop start work.

Edited by gordonbennet on 07/10/2013 at 22:01

Vauxhall Corsa CDTI 1.3 13 Reg - Engine needs decoking after 19,000 miles - The-Mechanic

Decoke !!!!

There's a term I haven't heard for ages. I agree that there must be some misunderstanding as to what needs "decoking" and would imagine it is indeed the DPF that requires a regen.

I don't know how you stand in regards rejecting the car as not fit for purpose as the handbook, I should imagine, point out that the DPF regularly requires a regeneration which normally is carried out automatically in course of a drive cycle.