toyota verso 2.2 auto - gearbox oil change - ramsap101

I am changing the oil on my Verso at 6500 miles prior a run down to Spain. The first service will be done in October. Is it prudent to change the Auto box fluid as well. I used to change my last Verso (Petrol) engine oil every 5-6ooo miles and the auto box oil every 30000 miles, and both were like new after 10 years. I am an old fashioned engineer and like to take care of my machinery.

toyota verso 2.2 auto - gearbox oil change - Cyd

I am an old fashioned engineer and like to take care of my machinery.

Careful, you'll be accused of being a dinosaur stuck in the 50s admitting that on here.

I'm with you on more frequent oil changes, but no I wouldn't change the atf at such a low mileage. Check the fluid level though and take a litre with you for good measure.

toyota verso 2.2 auto - gearbox oil change - gordonbennet

Careful, you'll be accused of being a dinosaur stuck in the 50s admitting that on here.

Not by you or i or a whole host of others he won't, and his car will still be running like a sewing machine years after the usual neglected stuff has starred on car forums with owners asking why their gearbox is failing and indignant that some of us Luddites might suggest servicing the poor thing.

30k does seem a bit low i would have thought unless the gearbox gets hard work like heavy city use or towing, recommended interval should be in the handbook.

Some German cars are now suggested @ 40k miles...whereas a few years ago those same boxes were filled for life apparently...ho ho bang rattle kerching.

Toyota/Lexus have never been daft enough to suggest their auto boxes should be neglected, sorry sealed for life, thats probably part of the reason that replacement Lexus boxes are never needed.

he's talking about changing the atf at just 6500, Gord.

I'd change the atf at 30k unless spec'd otherwise by the maker. It's the interval I use for my manual.