VW Polo '98 electric window fault - kris_kros
Hello. The drivers-side electric window has stopped working on my girlfriends R reg VW polo. I tested/replaced the fuse but this seems to be ok. According to the manual the windows operate on an automatic fuse (a separate fuse i suppose?) which breaks under stress, e.g if windows frozen shut, and reconnects seconds later. I wonder whether the 'blocks' clamping the window as referred to in a previous thread for a VW Passat have broken/cracked generating stress and causing the fuse to break?? I guess i really need to dismantle the door to spot any obvious faults but i can't work out how to loosen the grab handle to release the door trim either! Any ideas where the fault may lie, could the window switch be at fault? Any suggestions/advice will be greatly appreciated as i'm a bit of a novice at these things.
VW Polo '98 electric window fault - George Porge
Open the door and pull back the rubber trunking that the wires pass through between the A pillar and the door and you'll find the thickest of the wires has broken off and needs resoldering to the plug.
VW Polo '98 electric window fault - madmonty
I had a similar problem on a Passat. On a rainy night when the window wouldnt rise, I frantically diamantled the door anr released the window then Jammed it up with wood.

Next sunny day had a look and noticed the bust wire. Suitable patch wire put in place, reconnect all the bits and it worked a treat!
Ok, have located the thickest of the wires (blue) which has a separate plug to the bulk of the wires. It doesn't seem to be loose or look broken in any way. Should it be obviously broken when i look at it?
VW Polo '98 electric window fault - bell boy
try waggling it or all of them as you operate window switch and see if you get movement.........of the window in case anyone asks.:)